An Anniversary

Today is my wedding anniversary.  My husband and I have been married for 30 years.  I cannot believe that we have been married for so long and that this anniversary will not be spent with my husband.  We met when I was a very young girl and he was only a boy.  When we were older and he started courting me I was nervous about his job and relationship with God.  After a long engagement and several postponements we were married on a rainy June day.  While it was raining outside inside we celebrated with our family and friends for several days.  While I loved my husband I found the change in my lifestyle difficult to accept.  I had never lived so far away from my family and life was difficult.  After the birth of my first child I decided to move home.  After that my husband and I made our life at Arlington.

At that house and with my parents we raised seven children together and made a happy life.  We had our disagreements and issues.  He had not yet embraced Christ yet and I am not as prompt as he would like me to be but we have had a good life together.  And now on this anniversary we remember our wedding during a war that our sons are fighting in and with the threat of death all around us.

I feel the pain of our separation more acutely today and the loss of our home adds to that pain.  To not have the comfort of home while I worry about the life of my husband and children pains me greatly.  But I have the memories and I shall hold those close to me.  I pray for my family and thank God for the blessings he has given me.  My husband has been a blessing in my life; God has made a wonderful match in us.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family Life, Women's History

Leave a Reply

